Workers compensation in NSW

The State Insurance Regulatory Authority (SIRA) is the government organisation responsible for regulating the NSW workers compensation system. SIRA assumed the insurance regulatory functions of WorkCover on 1 September 2015. SafeWork NSW is the regulator for workplace health and safety in NSW.

There are three types of insurers in the NSW workers compensation system:

  • i-care
  • self-insurers
  • specialised insurers


Regardless of which type of insurer is involved, they all have an obligation to support employers and their workers during the recovery process and manage the claim to ensure entitlements are received.


Learn more


Other Services